Mark Davies is aiming for win number five in the Texaco Havoline Ginetta Championship as the title race heads to Donington Park this weekend.

With four wins from four meetings, Mark Davies heads the championship which makes its sole visit to Donington Park this weekend. Davies, new to the championship this season, has bagged one win at each double-header meeting this season to head the points table from Andrew Smith as the series approaches two rescheduled races at Donington.

Smith has won twice, once at Rockingham and most recently at Snetterton and lies 16 points behind Davies. In Ginetta-speak, 16 points is nothing at all which means that the championship is still wide open.

And they aren’t the only drivers capable of winning: Dominic Pettit took a win at Oulton Park and did so again at Knockhill so he, too, will be a front-runner while Chorley’s David Jackson is enjoying his best season to date. He, too, will be a front-runner as will first-year racer Sean Huyton and the rapid – if unlucky – Russell McCarthy. When Russell keeps out of trouble he is quick but has suffered from being caught up in other people’s incidents which have hampered his season.

Likewise Julian Barratt still hasn’t shaken off the tag of Mr Unlucky: so often this season (as previous years…) Barratt has been affected by gremlins that scupper his chances of mounting the championship bid that he is capable of. Fingers crossed better fortune may be with him this weekend.

Add in the ever-improving George Murrells, first-year racer Andy Richardson and G20 returnee Mark Wania, back after a sabbatical, and the scene is set for two more tremendous slipstreaming specials.

And look, too, for Matt Bell, brother of GT star Rob, who is making his car racing debut. With an impressive pedigree in karting, Bell’s progress will be watched with interest as he takes on drivers with far more car racing experience.

The cars take to the track at 9am on Saturday July 18 for free practice with qualifying at 14:55. Both 20-minute races will be held on Sunday July 19, the first at 9am and the second at 15:35.