Just one point separates Sarah Moore from Alex Austin at the head of the Ginetta Junior Championship with Henderson Insurance as the championship heads to Snetterton.

In terms of wins it is three-one to Sarah Moore over Alex Austin as the Ginetta Junior Championship with Henderson Insurance makes its sole visit to Snetterton. However, with Sarah suffering a puncture in the most recent race at Croft, she bagged just four points and allowed the consistent Austin – who had scored victory at Oulton Park – to close the gap. It stands at just one point heading to East Anglia…

Although the title race is between these two at present, expect it to become a three-way tussle. Lurking just 21 points adrift of Austin is Aaron Williamson who has taken three wins (at Donington, Oulton Park and Croft) but failed to finish at Thruxton and lost points for a clash at Oulton Park. His speed is undeniable and he should force his way back into the picture this weekend.

Jake Cook took honours at Brands Hatch at the start of the season to lock out the top step of the podium in both races. He struggled at Thruxton, though, and spent the Donington and Oulton Park weekends building up his pace.  He was in better form at Croft taking second in race one, so don’t discount him from claiming another win here – and from forcing himself back into contention for the title.

Others to look for include Jake Hill who finally scored victory at Croft – whilst his father Simon was away at Le Mans, watching it all on ITV4. With his maiden win finally achieved, it will be interesting to see if he can add more wins now his confidence has been boosted. David Moore, Sarah’s brother has shown speed in his first year of racing. He took second at Oulton Park and is knocking on the door of his first win, while Chris Swanwick and Mitchell Hale have proved they can run at the front, too.

With Snetterton ideal for slipstreaming, expect two typically close races from the teenage racers as the championship fight intensifies.

Qualifying for the Ginetta Junior Championship takes place on Saturday August 1 at 11:55 with race one at 10:30 the following day. Race two, scheduled for the same 9-lap duration, is due to begin at 16:25.