Skip to content

Driver Database News

The latest news from the world of racing


Archive for February, 2011

Menasheh IdafarCooper Tires British Formula 3 International Series racer Menasheh Idafar made his first outing of the year at Pembrey in South Wales today, Thursday, 24th February, in preparation for the beginning of officially timed pre-season testing next week.

Graduating to the full International Class this year after winning the British F3 National Class crown last season, a title won in the past by current FIA Formula One World Championship driver Sergio Perez, Menasheh was very happy to be back in the car following a three month break.

Running once again with Brackley-based T-Sport in 2011, the 19-year-old quickly got back into the swing of things at Pembrey today. Unfortunately the run was affected by rainfall but it did provide a perfect opportunity for Menasheh to reacquaint himself with his Volkswagen-powered Dallara F310.

He said: “It’s been great to be back in the car after the long winter break. It was a bit of a shame it rained for most of the day but we worked through everything we wanted to and prepared well for the start of official testing next week.

“Last year was fantastic, it was great to win the National Class, but we know the step-up to the main class will be very tough. I’m really enjoying driving the car and the Volkswagen engine feels great, so hopefully we can make some good progress before the start of the season.”

Rockingham in Northamptonshire will host the first officially timed test of the British F3 pre-season next Tuesday, 1st March, and Wednesday, 2nd March, with the championship runners then traveling south to Silverstone to take part in the annual Media Day on Tuesday, 8th March.

Further test outings will follow at Oulton Park, Cheshire, and Snetterton, Norfolk, prior to the first race meeting of the season on 16th/17th April at the world-famous Autodromo Nazionale Monza, home of Formula One’s Italian Grand Prix.

Photo by Jakob Ebrey Photography.

Chris VlokMortimer Racing is pleased to announce that has Chris Vlok to compete in the 2010 edition of the Quebec-based Formula Tour F1600 series.

As part of a multi-car effort in the Formula Tour 1600 series, Ottawa-based Mortimer Racing has added New Zealand racer Vlok to its 2011 driver line-up. The 18 year-old Vlok joins the former Formula Ford championship-winning squad having begun his racing career two years ago, and most recently competed in the 2010-11 New Zealand Formula Ford Championship.

Vlok will make his Canadian motorsports debut with Mortimer Racing in the spring, with the yet to be finalized 2011 Formula Tour F1600 schedule slated to begin at Le Circuit Mont Tremblant in Quebec.

Originally published:

Rising motor racing star Alice Powell has enjoyed an exciting start to 2011 – the 17 year old reigning Formula Renault BARC Champion has been awarded both the British Women’s Racing Driver’s Club (BWRDC) Elite Gold Star and the club’s premier award, ‘The Lord Wakefield Trophy’.

Alice was named the Elite Gold Star winner for the second year in succession and received the award from BBC Sport’s Formula 1 TV presenter, Jake Humphrey at the 2011 Autosport International Show, UK. This prestigious award is presented on merit to a junior member who has shown the capability of, and aspires to become, a professional driver.

Alice was awarded The Lord Wakefield Trophy at the ‘MSA Night of Champions’ held at the Royal Automobile Club on London’s Pall Mall on 21st January.

Delighted to have started the year on such a high note, Alice says: “I am extremely proud to have won these awards and this is a great way to start the year, not just for me, but for my sponsors and all who support me. It is a privilege to win the Lord Wakefield Trophy and to have sat amongst legends such as Ross Brawn and Jason Plato at the awards ceremony was not only inspirational, but a great honour.”

Sarah Shaw at Manor Competition, who champions Alice’s talents, said: “Alice first came to our attention when she was racing Ginetta Juniors. At a time when there were several promising female drivers out there, Alice stood out as not just the best of the girls, but better than the boys too in Formula Renault. We knew then that she had the potential to go all the way in what is a heavily male dominated sport – Alice’s achievement in winning the Formula Renault BARC Championship is impressive enough – but that she did it in one of the most competitive seasons in the championship’s history, despite missing almost all the preseason testing, is testament to her talent and determination.”

Sarah continues: “Being awarded the Lord Wakefield Trophy highlights the fact that she has now caught the attention of some of the most prominent figures in the sport. To have won it at such a young age and early stage in her career is even more of an indication of just what she can achieve. At Manor we feel we are well placed to identify the raw ingredients needed to make a successful racing driver… Alice Powell has all those ingredients.”

Alice proved her mettle on the Formula Renault BARC grid last year scoring two wins, seven podiums and two pole positions. Alice made history by becoming the first female to win a Formula Renault race and the first female to win a Formula Renault Championship.

To continue the momentum already behind Alice, she hopes to compete in the 2011 Formula Renault UK Championship.

Alice Powell’s aim is to be first successful British woman to compete for the Formula 1 World Championship title. In 2009, aged just 16, Alice became the youngest ever female driver in the Michelin Formula Renault UK Championship, competing with the championship winning team Manor Competition, who launched the careers of F1 Champions Lewis Hamilton and Kimi Räikkönen.

The Lord Wakefield Challenge Trophy was first presented to the Women’s Automobile Sports Association (WASA) in 1929 by Lord Wakefield and is widely credited as the highest accolade bestowed upon a female for outstanding services to motorsport. The award was handed over to the BWRDC after its creation in 1962 by Mary Wheeler MBE. It is now acknowledged as the club’s premier award with previous recipients including Susie Stoddart, Amanda Whitaker, Rachel Green, the late Pat Moss-Carlsson, Louise Aitken-Walker and Jutta Kleinschmidt. Since 1992, a panel of independent judges was established to decide on a winner – which is only awarded when it is deemed there is a suitable candidate.