Formula Gulf 1000Nick Canal has been crowned 2012/13 Formula Gulf 1000 Champion after taking two safe finishes in Rounds 13 & 14 of this extremely competitive single seater series. But it was Malaysian drivers Rahul Mayer and Weiron Tan who took the top step of the podium in rounds 13 & 14 respectively.

Running in parallel to the official Championship was a second competition, the GulfSport Trophy. This was also decided in the very last race when Natasha Seatter picked up yet another 2nd place finish which gave her a 2 point lead over Rahul Mayer to pick up the prestigious GulfSport Trophy.

Round 13 was notable for the poor start that Caterham F1 Academy driver Wei Ron Tan made which left him a huge amount of work to do after spinning at the first turn after contact with Saeed Bintouq. The race was won by Mayer, followed by Seatter and Tan.

Round 14 saw Wei Ron Tan get the holeshot from the second row to go on to win the race from Seatter who got past pole man Mayer to take second place. Rahul Mayer finished 3rd.

At the awards ceremony it was announced that Natasha Seatter has been offered a professional drive in the Asia Porsche Carrera Cup series, Wei Ron Tan is moving up to Formula Renault in the UK, and Rahul Mayer is about to start in the BRDC Formula 4 Championship. A fourth Formula Gulf 1000 driver is expected to announce a significant move in the next week when the sponsorship deal is finalized.

As a professionally run driver development series this is a great achievement for GulfSport Racing who run the FG1000 series and provides a strong inventive for new drivers looking to take up single seater racing in the UAE. GulfSport Racing’s team principal said “We are extremely grateful to the parents and sponsors for supporting these very talented young drivers. I have no doubt we will see them making successful racing careers and its been a pleasure to help them on their way. We now look forward to training the next batch of the region’s best racers.”