Skip to content

Driver Database News

The latest news from the world of racing


Category: Shelby Can-Am

Darryn Lobb moved one step closer to the Shelby Can-Am championship after scoring another dominant win at Zwartkops while Toby Scheckter surprised many with his pace in what was his first competitive outing for seven years.

In what has been a dominant season, the DK Woodcraft backed driver has now won eight races from ten starts this year.

Lobb made his intentions clear on Friday when he claimed the all important pole position, a smidgen quicker than 2008 champion Rui Campos (Hugo Boss). “Pole position is probably more important at Zwartkops than at any other track, so all I need is to make sure I get a decent start,” said Lobb who won the title in 2007.

Brian Algar (Thuthuka Welding) headed row two and had Alan Eve in the Sunshine Testing/Phakisa entry alongside while the top six was completed by Sean Greve (Vulcania Reinforcing) who shared the next row with Scheckter in the Trionz backed car.

In what was almost an incident free race, Lobb took a comfortable in the opening race although Campos was less than a second behind at the flag.

Algar was a solid third, but was under pressure from Eve while Greve took fifth as Scheckter didn’t break ranks and also finished in the same position he started from.

Jean Paul Bredenhann (Bigfoot Express/Panel Rite) had a lonely race to seventh place with Bertil Hofmann (GP Energy Drink) next ahead of Hanno Pengilly (Azura Retreats) while Thomas Reib (Coolstar Beverages) was disappointed with tenth, especially since he’d won when the series raced at Zwartkops in April.

As is the norm for the series, race two featured a partially inverted grid, the top eight fastest lap times from race one are reversed.

This time it was Eve who started from pole, and the experienced veteran didn’t waste the opportunity as he led from start to finish to score his first win of the season. Lobb was just over two seconds behind as Campos was a similar distance behind in third.

Scheckter held fourth at the end of the opening lap but ran into gearbox problems and called it a day after four laps which left Algar to take the position. Bredenhann was pleased with fifth ahead of Reib and Pengilly.

Craig Shorter (Phakisa) was eighth ahead of Dave Beattie (Dura) and Capetonian Greg Walker (Bizfone).

Sheckter had enjoyed himself, saying the cars felt like big single seaters. “It was great and it will be nice if I can do a few more races,” he said. “I think he’s done a great job considering the car was only given a quick set-up on Friday,” said Francois Pretorius, whose crew had the task of running the car.

The next round of the Shelby Can-Am championship takes place at East London’s fabulous former Grand Prix circuit on 29 August.

The Shelby Can-Am championship is within Darryn Lobb’s grasp and two more wins will virtually secure him the title. But Zwartkops is a circuit known to produce close racing and upset results. A good qualifying is more important than at any other track.

In what has been a dominant season, the DK Woodcraft backed former champion has won seven of the eight races that made up the first half of the season. The race he didn’t win was at Zwartkops.

Defending champion Rui Campos (Hugo Boss) has been in the wars this year but had a good outing last time out at Phakisa to come away with two third places. Currently he’s second in the points race. Ten points behind is a fascinating battle for third place where Brian Algar (Thuthuka Welding) is tied on points with Edenvale’s rising star Thomas Reib (CoolstarBeverages) who is the only other driver to have won this year.

JP Bredenhann (Bigfoot Express/Panel Rite) could upset the plans of the leaders. The former kart star from Durban is three points behind Algar and Reib and is overdue for a win. Although he was second in both races at Kyalami his results have been a bit inconsistent, but his pace is good.

Alan Eve in the Phakisa entry is only five points behind Bredenhann while former Porsche 924 racer Sean Greve (Vulcania Reinforcing) is just outside the top six despite missing the previous Zwartkops round.

Bertil Hofmann in the striking Brawn GP liveried GP Energy Drink backed car has had some solid results and holds eighth ahead of Durbsan’s impressive newcomer Andrew Strike (Strike 1 Racing) while Cape Town’s fiery and equally impressive newcomer Greg Walker (Bizfone) completes the top 10.

Dave Beattie (DURA) is determined to make up ground after bruising outings at Kyalami and Phakisa. Colin Frost (Strocam) is a staunch sportscar supporter and is capable of mixing it in the top ten thanks to a wealth of experience while Durban’s Sun Moodley (Bigfoot Express) has surprised many with his performances in only his second season of racing.

Craig Shorter (Execuline) has also had to miss a few events, but he could be a good bet for a top six finish. Hanno Pengilly (Azura Retreats) is another driver who missed a round due to business commitments

Richard Wood and former off-road racer Harry Roscoe have been in the series it was the Opel powered Sports 2000 championship and they are as enthusiastic as ever.

Featuring very strong space-frame chassis these sleek bodied sportscars are powered by Nissan’s reliable 3.5 litre V6 powerplant. Drive is taken care of via a unique four speed Weisman gearbox which was specially designed for these Carroll Shelby designed cars.